To edit your privacy settings, go to the Privacy section of your Settings page.
This page can be accessed directly from your profile page or the drop down menu in the header.
For each of the settings on the Privacy Settings page, you can decide who is able to see your information or contact you:
- All - When the option is set to All, all users will be able to see this information, or contact you in this way. Note: Admin settings may prevent all or certain users from seeing this information.
- Mentoring Relationships - When this option is selected, only users who are in a mentoring relationship with you, will be able to see this information, or contact you in this way.
- Hide - This option will hide your details/contact method from all users. Note: Admin will be able to see all information that you have entered in your profile.
Who can see your phone number?
Your phone number may appear on your profile, depending on your institution's settings.
Who can see your email address?
Your email address may appear on your profile, depending on your institution's settings.
Who can see your location (city, state and country) on your profile?
Your city, state and country (never your exact address) appears on your profile. In addition, users are able to search by location in the directory to find mentors and connections in their area.
Who can send you messages?
Other users may be able to message you, depending on your institution's settings.
Social Media Messaging
We encourage you to add social media messaging options to your profile. This will allow options when communication with your mentor or mentee.
Who can contact you via Skype?
This option allows users to chat or video call you on Skype.
Who can contact you via Facebook Messenger?
This option allows users to message you on Facebook - you do not have to be Facebook friends with the other person for this to work.
Who can contact you via Google Hangouts?
This option allows users to chat or arrange a video conference with you via Google Hangouts.
Who can send you a Google Calendar invitation?
If another user joins the platform with Google, or adds Google as a login method, they are able to send Google Calendar invitations to other users.