You can subscribe to and unsubscribe from notifications in the Notifications section of your Settings. By default, all notifications are on.
This page can be accessed directly from your profile page or the drop down menu in the header.
How are users notified of activity?
There are a few different ways in which you are notified of relevant activity on the platform:
- On-screen notifications - These notifications will appear when you click on the bell icon in the header. (Please note: This functionality is still in development.)
- Widgets in your Feed - When you are invited to an event, you will see that activity as part of your Feed.
- Email notifications - In order to keep you up-to-date and allow you to respond to others in a timely fashion, there are select notifications that are sent via email.
- Mobile push notifications - If you log into the platform via the native app, you will be able to receive notifications on your phone. For the PWA app, push notifications are available for Android only.
To turn a notification on or off, simply move the toggle.
In this section, you can tweak your email and mobile notifications for the following:
- Someone sent you a message
- Someone commented/liked your post
- Someone commented/liked a post you've commented on
- You've been tagged in a photo/post
- You've received a mentoring relationship notification from an admin
- You have a mentoring milestone due
In this section, you can tweak your email and mobile notification settings for the following:
- Event invites and reminders - When you are invited to an event, you will receive an invitation, with a link to register.
- Activity digest - This is a summary of activity of the platform that is customized based on your settings and groups. The activity digest is a great summary of activity on the platform that is sent out between once a week and once a month, depending on your institution's settings. This notification is available by email only.
- Platform announcements - This notification setting refers to bulk messages sent out by the platform administrators. This notification is available by email only.