If you have admin permissions to create groups, you will see the New Group button on the main Groups page.
Note: Any group created by a user will need to be approved by an admin before it is live on the platform.
Step 1 - Group Details
Fill in the name, website (optional) and description of your group. These details will be visible to all users on the group's About page.
Add a logo and banner
The logo for groups should be 200 x 200 pixels. Jpeg and png files of up to 10MB are supported.
Note: The logo will be cropped to a circle inside the group.
The group banner should be 932 x 223 pixels. Jpeg and png files of up to 10MB are supported.
Step 2 - Settings
Select the appropriate settings for your group.
An open group's content is visible to all users on the platform. User's matching the member settings of the group (below) will be added automatically to the group. Other users will be able to join the group and post content by clicking the Join button.
User's matching the member settings of the group (below) will be added automatically. Other users will only be able to view the About page of the group. Users can ask to join the group but must be approved by a group admin.
Group members inviting users
You can decide whether users added by current group members should be automatically added to your closed group, or whether they should be sent an invitation inviting them to join.
Only platform admins who have purchased premium groups will see this option. See here for more information on Premium groups.
As an admin, you can decide which permissions each affiliation will have in each specific group. The default is set to be the same as the main platform permissions until otherwise selected.
Please see more on affiliation permissions here
Step 3 - Add members
Users can be automatically added to groups, based on the Members settings. You can either add users when setting up the group, or you can add them later from within the group admin.
Note: Users will need to match all the settings in order to be added. Eg. If you select Business Degree and a specific sorority, it will only add users who have selected both Business degree and that sorority.
You can also select individual users to be added to the group.
When you have selected your filter(s), click Create Group to complete the set-up process.
If you are a platform admin, you group will be live immediately. If you are a user, you will be notified when your group has been approved.