Group permissions are based on your platform and/or the specific group settings. When creating a group, users/admin must select whether a group is open or closed, and whether the group's permissions match the platform permissions, or whether all group members have full permissions within the group.
An open group's content is visible to all users on the platform. User's matching the member settings will be added automatically to the group. Other users will be able to join the group and post content by clicking the Join button.
User's matching the member settings of the group will be added automatically. Other users will only be able to view the About page of the group. Users can ask to join the group, by clicking the Join button, but must be approved by a group admin.
If Full access is selected, all members of the group will be able to see all other members and all pages, and can post content in all sections of the group.
If Limited access is selected, the group will have the same permissions and restrictions as the rest of the platform. Eg. If students are not able to see the events section, or view alumni, they will have the same restrictions within the group.